h1

Salvaging a shirt from the wreckage

August 6, 2010

As I indicated in my Wardrobe crisis post, I have been attempting to sew a shirt using my serger (eek) and McCalls 5662. I think it has finally turned out reasonably, although I am personally not quite satisfied with the workmanship.

When I first saw the pattern, I only paid attention to the front of it. I fell in love with the grecian feel to the front and sleeves and I loved the empire waist detail. There is a lesson in this: always look at the technical drawings.

I made C because it was sleeveless and I liked the twisty detail at the waist. I made the assumption, however, that the back of C was more like E. As a result, I was surprised to discover that the back is lower and much more open than I wanted (I need to wear a bra) and the waist detail didn’t go all the way around.

I “fixed” this by leaving the back pieces ungathering and crossing them so that they form a V similar to the one in the front. I also removed the front waist detail and attached two long ties that I can wrap around my waist several times. It gives me much more of the effect I want.

I’m still not sure if I like the top. I think the stretch cotton I picked is more stretch than cotton and I find it clings to places I prefer it not cling. I also found the neckline came out much lower than I’m entirely comfortable with. I cannot wear this to work because I may have to lean over.

I’m going to try the pattern again. I bought a jersey that I think has a bit more structure to it and I plan to make View E since the things I  like most about the pattern are in that version.

3 comments

  1. I think it looks great from what I can see. Is it possible to wear a camisole under it if you think it’s too low cut? That way you maybe can wear it more often?


  2. Thanks for the compliments. The shirt is growing on me. I will give the camisole idea a try.


  3. […] pattern was McCalls 5662 I tried view C last summer and was less than impressed with the way it turned out. I wound up modifying it and eventually put […]



Leave a comment