h1

Wardrobe crisis

July 12, 2010

Yes, we’re still in the middle of a heatwave and I still have very little to wear to work.

I spent my evening trying to work on a polka dot jersey shirt using McCalls 5662 which I bought back during my no sew week. The results were less than I was hoping for.

My serger fought me every step of the way. I had to re-thread six times and I broke a needle.

I tried to make view C but was disappointed to discover that the waist tie was not a tie after all but just a decorative bit in the front of the shirt. I dislike the way it pulls the back part of the waistline forward so I think I will take it out and basically be left with view D. This may make it wearable.

If I try the shirt again I will want to use a heavier jersey because this one is structureless, and I will skip the waist twist in the pattern and make my own waist ties.

Tomorrow night will be pants.

Hopefully they’ll go better.

One comment

  1. […] Salvaging a shirt from the wreckage August 6, 2010 As I indicated in my Wardrobe crisis post, I have been attempting to sew a shirt using my serger (eek) and McCalls 5662. I think it has […]



Leave a Reply

