h1

SWAP Review #5: Two pencil skirts

September 26, 2012

So, despite my best intentions, I was not able to enter this year’s SWAP contest at Stitcher’s Guild. I got most of the sewing done, with some modifications to the plan but promptly got sick and wasn’t able to finish taking photos in time to submit them.

I still want to work through the items I made though. This year’s SWAP involved creating two iterations of the same article of clothing or even the same pattern when possible for several items and then creating a few other items as well.

I had the option with this SWAP, when creating two of the same type of clothing item, to either use the same pattern or not. For the skirts I decided to use two different patterns.

For the first skirt, I made yet another version of Vogue 7937.

This is, possibly, my favourite pattern. It is easy to sew, is small enough that Views A and B can practically be made from scraps. I have made views A and C in the past so this time I wanted to made view D. I pulled out some leftover four ply silk from an ill fated suit I tried to make a few years ago and stitched it up.

Here it is with the pink silk blouse I described earlier.


The other skirt was inspired by my RTW skirt shopping trip much earlier this year during which I decided that I really wanted a high waisted, wiggle skirt.

I had some tweed fabric that I will hopefully make a suit from in the future and I used it to make Burda 8155.

Here that one is:

It works quite well for work.

 

Leave a Reply

