h1

SWAP Review #2: McCalls 5661

September 4, 2012

So, despite my best intentions, I was not able to enter this year’s SWAP contest at Stitcher’s Guild. I got most of the sewing done, with some modifications to the plan but promptly got sick and wasn’t able to finish taking photos in time to submit them.

I still want to work through the items I made though. This year’s SWAP involved creating two iterations of the same article of clothing or even the same pattern when possible for several items and then creating a few other items as well.

The second pattern I worked on using to create two items is; McCalls 5661

I’ve used this pattern before and I really like it. It works as both a tucked in and untucked blouse and I think it’s a great wardrobe building pattern.I prefer the gathered neckline variation over the princess seamed one as I think it is just easier to work with as a blouse and I struggle more with FBAs on princess seams. Both of the blouses I made use the gathered neckline.

I made one sleeveless blouse out of a floral print slippery satin fabric.

Here it is, tucked into a pencil skirt.
I’m actually not too fond of the way the heavy satin draped. It tends to bulk up and bulge just above my breasts rather than flowing down over them so it looks slightly odd but I’ve worn it a fair bit because it’s flexible and makes outfits seem more summery.

The other version I made had 3/4 length sleeves.
This version is more dressy and is silk. This piece of silk started off life as a sari that I found at a local thrift store. I loved the colour so I grabbed the piece without examining it that closely other than thinking “ooh, looks nice, feels nice, and it’s $3.99.”

It wasn’t until I got home and pulled out my purchases that I took a closer look. I noticed the way it caught on my fingers, how light it was and the muted glow it had. So I did the ash test. I clipped off a tiny corner and held it over my kitchen sink while I lit it on fire. Sure enough it smelled like burned hair and turned to ash rather than melting into a plastic goo.

I’d bough 6 metres of silk for $3.99!

So I made a blouse and I hope to make a dress from the rest of it, once I decide what sort of dress to make.

One comment

  1. […] with the highest pair of heels I’ve ever owned, and the floral blouse which officially made McCalls 5661 into one of my go to […]



Leave a Reply

