h1

2012 Oscar dress talk

February 27, 2012

Well I did this last year so I suppose I should make it a tradition. I watch the Oscars for the dresses more than anything else and I often find that what I like doesn’t match what the “experts” like so I’m not sure what that says about my taste.

So here’s what I liked:

Not a lot has been said about Ellie Kemper’s burnished flame dress but I really liked it. The cut was simple. I liked the colour on her. I don’t think it’s a colour palette I could pull off, but she did it and the dress leapt out at me early on and stayed in my mind. Isn’t standing out for all the right reasons something everyone is trying to do on the red carpet?

Well, I liked Berenice Bejo’s dress. It was that exact shade of green that brought out her lovely hair, and I loved the beadwork, soft drape and gauzey sleeves. Pretty.

I loved  the detailed embroidery on Jessica Chastain’s black and gold gown. I thought it suited her well.

I thought Octavia Spencer looked fabulous. The draping and pleating of her dress reminded me of a sari and I think it looked fabulous, emphasizing her voluptuous curves in all the right ways.

Liked but not completely:

I liked most of Melissa McCarthy’s dress. I liked the colour – someone described it as beige but I saw a dusty rose that brought out her skin tone beautifully. I liked the  neckline and the high waist sparkle. I thought the dress handled her cleavage well.

I did not like the sleeves. I get that not all women want to share their arms with the world but there were better ways to deal with that. Her puffy undersleeves with a draped chiffon overlay made the dress too busy and kind of tacky. If she wanted to hide her arms, I would recommend a matching short opera style cape. It would drap gently around her without messing with the silhouette of the dress.

Y’know, I really liked most of Viola Davis’ dress. I loved the colour and I liked the sparkle at the bust. I did not like the skirt. It appears that I really don’t like these wide chiffon pleats. I didn’t like them when Cate Blanchett wore them last year and I don’t like them now.

Did not like:

I think it was the heavy drape of the dress that made it look like it was dragging poor Emma Stone down, down, down. The big red neck bow made it messy and overpowering. Great colour  though.

I read a description of Shailene Woodley’s dress as being “what Marsha Brady would wear to prom” and I kind of agree. To me it looks like it’s made of that heavy 70s polyester that doesn’t breathe at all. I also didn’t like the macramé peek-a-boo look. It doesn’t work with the severe modesty of the rest of the dress.

If this dress were any other colour (even black) I probably wouldn’t have noticed Tina Fey’s choice but the navy blue just seems to make the dress seem boxy and matronly. It seems like something borrowed from Diane Keaton’s wardrobe in the first half of the First Wives Club.

I love Tina Fey but she could have worn something a little less mother-of-the-bride whose marriage she doesn’t approve.

On a slightly different topic…

I have to give a shout out to Christopher Plummer who looked dashing in his blue velvet jacket and Order of Canada Pin ftw!

 

Leave a Reply

