h1

A Tops SWAP dress

September 15, 2011

This is my version of the dress from Vogue 8701.

This dress and the challenges it brings are the reasons I chose to focus my SWAP on fitting  bodices. I’m not entirely thrilled with the way this dress fits. I find it to be somewhat tight where it should be loose and loose where it should be tight. I think I will probably try it again sometime with different fabric.  

One of the main issues I have with it is the neckline. I love the V at the back. It’s one of the major features that made me want to make this dress, but the opening is too wide for me and shows my bra straps which is something I prefer not to do at the office. As a result, I tend to wear a cardigan with the dress…

…and I think that solves the problem for now. My wildcard item for this year’s SWAP is the blazer from this pattern so once I have finished that, this dress will have a go to jacket.

I still think that I would like to try to make the dress again out of a non satin fabric. I originally wanted to make the dress out of a lightweight white linen but my local fabric chain didn’t have any when I was in there (I have been unimpressed with their selection lately) so I went with the shiny sateen polka dots. I think I will try it again in the near future when I find the right fabric.

One comment

  1. […] with invisible zippers and hard to fit bodices. I’m not so thrilled with the fit of either: Vogue 8701 Vogue […]



Leave a Reply

