h1

Semi formal

September 12, 2011

Weddings tend to be preceded by showers and bachelorette parties and this summer I managed to be invited to a couple of both. One involved wearing yoga pants and then going out on the town so  I wanted a top I could do both with. Burda 7866 seemed to fit the bill. I tried something different with it by gathering the waist panel so it would be more, ahem,  forgiving to my waist which has thickened up a bit with the work related stress I’ve been dealing with lately. 

I used a blue cotton jersey that is very comfortable and drapes nicely.

The pencil skirt is my third version of Vogue 7937. I used fabric I had left over from a skirt I made years ago. It’s a “mixed fibres” fabric that has the tiniest bit of stretch in it so it clings a bit.

The whole outfit is really comfortable and looks nice. Expect more versions of both of these patterns in the future.

One comment

  1. […] I were to make it again, I think I would combine the concept of this shirt with Burda 7866 which I made last summer and give the shirt and empire waistline with a ruched lower panel. I am hoping to try this […]



Leave a Reply

