h1

Rachel Comey Blouse: finally got it right!

September 9, 2011

I’ve only been talking about making Vogue 1170, the Rachel Comey blouse forever. I did make a version last summer, but I wasn’t so thrilled with how it turned out:

I chose the wrong fabric for it in using a raw silk that just had too much structure. It made the fabric gathered into the knot stand up like a bow tie.

I also think I just simply cut out the wrong size and wound up making it too big. I kind of felt like I was swimming in it.  I may find a way to make it work but I wanted to try it again to see if I could get it right.

So I did it again as one of my replacement SWAP pieces. Instead of the lovely silk, I selected a much more slippery polyester remnant piece that I bought for about $3.00 (gotta love using sale fabric to make up designer patterns). It actually looks a lot like the fabric the model is wearing on the pattern envelope which was not planned but seems to have been a good idea.

Here that is for comparison:

I cut out a smaller size this time to make it clingier and I used french seams. This is the pattern that made me fall in love with them after all.

As you can see. It’s just a better fit:

Once again, the new skill for this outfit was buttonholes. I often wonder how easy buttonholes are for people with 1 step buttonholers. My machine claims to have a 6 step button holder but it’s mostly just a lot of tight, strategic zigzagging – and I’m not very good at it.

I do love these buttons though so I’m hoping no one notices the wonky holes.

Here’s to another wardobe staple.

One comment

  1. […] too bad McCalls 5661 – I really like this pattern and plan to us it again Butterick 4395 OOP Rachel Comey Blouse (Vogue 1170)  – I think this was one of my favourite accomplishments this […]



Leave a Reply

