h1

Replacing a wadder with flames

September 5, 2011

More SWAP.

Remember how I struggled with a couple of wadders early on in the SWAP sewing phase? I had facing that wouldn’t stay hidden on Butterick 5354 and several issues with McCalls 5662 some of which I am inclined to blame on the way the pattern was drafted. The directions actually called for me to handstitch the band in place which seemed a little odd since it was a stretch fabric only pattern.

I decided then that I would replace those two pieces with others.  I replaced one by making yet another version of Butterick 4395 (now so far OOP that I cannot find an image of it on the Butterick website) in a flame coloured sateen. It appears both of my replacement SWAP pieces are made from serendipitous finds in the remnants bin.

 It is a pseudo wrap top with a gathered waist that drops into a decorative tail at the front on one side and has an invisible side zipper.

The invisible zipper was my new skill for this item and I definitely struggled with it. I find with invisible zippers I tend to stitch too close to the zipper and wreck the zipper or I’m too far out and the zipper isn’t invisible. I rather enjoy the visible zipper trend going on now for this reason.

I also altered the sleeves by taking the original sleeve piece and extending it and rounding it out at the bottom to give the sleeves a slight medieval effect.

Here it is with the denim SWAP  skirt.

One comment

  1. […] so it’s not too bad McCalls 5661 – I really like this pattern and plan to us it again Butterick 4395 OOP Rachel Comey Blouse (Vogue 1170)  – I think this was one of my favourite accomplishments this […]



Leave a Reply

