h1

Back to the Swap: Silk blouse

September 2, 2011

I did not complete the SWAP in time. Congratulations to both entrants and to the winners. You both did beautful work and raised the bar on photo taking. I  need a nicer setting than my driveway.

I bowed out a few days before the deadline as I realized there was just no way I was going to get everything done in time. I did not, however, stop sewing the SWAP items. I still hope to get them done this year since I bought the patterns and the fabric.

One I did manage to make before the deadline was McCalls 5661 view D. The new skill for this one was buttonholes.

I made it from a creamy raw silk that I bought from Fabricmart last year and it’s become a wardrobe staple for me.

I love the way it’s loose but still follows my curves and I like the way it drapes in general. After my not so successful attempt at using this fabric last year, I’m glad I finally found the right project for it.

The buttonholes turned out alright although with this blouse I probably could have gotten away with non functional buttonholes since these buttons are not necessary for me to put the blouse on or take it off.

I really like the buttons down the back look. I think this is mostly because I can indulge my love for buttons without attempting to make a front closing blouse  fit me properly…something I will attempt to do later as I sew through my SWAP choices.

Oh and the skirt is also from the SWAP. It is  McCalls 5429 view B and it was the first item I actually thought turned out well. I wore it all spring until the heat hit.

One comment

  1. […] 5662 – I called it a  wadder but I’ve been wearing it so it’s not too bad McCalls 5661 – I really like this pattern and plan to us it again Butterick 4395 OOP Rachel Comey Blouse […]



Leave a Reply

