h1

Off to a Wedding with Anne Klein

August 25, 2011

So now that you’ve seen what I wore to one wedding this summer, here is the other dress I made.

I made Vogue 1223 by Anne Klein in New York. I usually like Anne Klein (particularly her shoes) and I was drawn to this dress because it looked light and airy, perfect for dancing at weddings. But, alas, in the end I didn’t like this dress as much as I thought I would. In hindsight I would say this had three causes.

1. The brilliant plan I  had to do it with two different fabrics and intentionally make the lining show as a flounce-like bottom layer failed to impress me when I basted it in place. This is likely because I did not add inches on each side of the skirt lining pieces to allow for the gathering that would make a fuller skirt and create the flounce look I was going for.

2. Because said brilliant plan was a flop, I did not get the visual impact out of the deep purple chiffon I used for the lining so the whole dress was a kind of pseudo lavender-grey non colour that kind of washed out my face.

3. I was in a hurry so I didn’t do a muslin first or do an FBA so it did not fit well in the bodice and was loose in lots of places I don’t usually need or want things to be loose

This is how it turned out.

I just don’t think it does me any favours.

I wore last summer’s Poor Decisions dress to the other wedding, and that was a good decision.

One comment

  1. […] I also managed two dresses with invisible zippers and hard to fit bodices. I’m not so thrilled with the fit of either: Vogue 8701 Vogue 1223 […]



Leave a Reply

