h1

Belated Oscars comments

March 7, 2011

I’ve never done the Oscars analysis thing on this blog before and I’m a little late getting to it this year, but nevertheless, here are my opinions on what the ladies were wearing this year.

My favourites:

Natalie Portman. 

I love this dress. I love the colour, I love the way it drapes. I think it looks comfortable without looking like a muu muu, and I think she looks radiant in it. Remind me to add “wear more deep purple silk” to my list of things to do this year.

Mila Kunis

Okay, not everyone did, but I love the lace work on this dress. I do have the distinct impression it’s held to her breasts with double sided tape, but it wouldn’t be the first time that was a red carpet accessory (JLo anyone?). The muted lilac colour looks lovely on her and, while the skirt is a little sheer for me, it really made her stand out. I think she did the lace right. 

 
Jennifer Hudson.

I don’t wear orange, but she can. This dress was flattering,  flowed beautifully and was absolutely striking as she swept across the stage to present.

Now for the ones that made me say “errr…no”

 
Scarlett Johanson.

Okay, the dress isn’t that bad, but I don’t really like the lace work on it. I think it looks like Victorian influenced lingerie… and if you’re going to design something that could be described that way, I’d suggest working with the corset thing rather than the Gibson girl-esque neckline.

I also didn’t like her hair. It sort of looks to me like she forgot about it. I think even a simple chignon would have improved the overall look. I don’t generally notice hair and am far from a hair expert, so the fact that I noticed it means she probably could have made a better choice.

 
Cate Blanchett

*sigh * She’s usually so well dressed. From the close fitting metallic dress to the flowing grecian gown she wore when she was pregnant a few years ago, I always look forward to seeing what she’s wearing. This year was really surprising because I found this dress to be downright ugly. The boxy shaped pseudo sleeves, the baby yellow and pink lumpy bumps all over that bore an unfortunate resemblance to undiagnosed growths, and that weird oval shape framing the torso that looked like the mirrored glass had fallen out combined to form a dress I just couldn’t wrap my head around. I also disliked the softly pleated skirt. I know those pleated skirts are back  in but I just don’t like them.

And then I learned that the dress was made by Givenchy! So glad Audrey Hepburn never had to wear it.

And that’s my pretty unqualifed opinion of it all. I’m sure I missed some dresses. I went to bed after Costume Design was announced. Congratulations Colleen Atwood! You continue to inspire.

Leave a Reply

