h1

Serging Ahead

August 31, 2010

I took a serger workshop on the weekend so I’d be all set to sew the bridesmaids dresses my friend has asked me to make for her wedding.

I agreed to do it before she dropped off the fabric and I realized it was all VERY stretchy.

It was a terrific workshop. I learned about my differential feed, adjusting the tension and how to do a rolled hem.
…And then I learned that the technique I really wanted to learn actually requires a coverstitch machine rather than a plain old serger.

Not sure if one of those is in the budget so I may have to fake it.

In other news, the trench is on hold for now as I have an emergency project I need to finish for Friday.

Wish me luck!

One comment

  1. […] I was definitely nervous. I took that serger workshop last July so I could make sure I learned all the tricks I could for making the dresses. My […]



Leave a Reply

