h1

OT Weekends: Books

June 12, 2010

This off topic post is actually slightly on topic. I love sewing and I also love books so I thought I’d share with you my recent sewing/style book purchases from a local secondhand bookshop that I try to avoid simply because I spend too much money there

 Survey of HIstoric Costume:

This is a textbook style book showing clothing from ancient times to the middle of the 20th century. It reminds me of a book I used to borrow from the library for extended periods of time when I was costuming back in highschool. I’m glad to finally own a book like this.

The Sari – I spent time in India and fell in love with the sari while I was there. Sometimes I wish I was daring enough to wear one in Toronto, but thus far I’m not. This book discusses the history and politics of the sari which are far more complex than I picked up on while I was there so I am looking forward to learning all I can.

 Style Deficit Disorder – I also enjoyed roaming Takeshitadori in Harajuku. While most of what I saw fell into the category of things I could not really imagine wearing myself, there were elements of everything that I found fascinating and bits and pieces that I could imagine incorporating into something that was more me. This book discusses the different fashion lines that have appeared and disappeared over the years. I’m looking forward to reading more.

Fashion, Desire and Anxiety – And finally I decided that it was time I read a bit of fashion theory that puts what we wear in some social context.

I’ll let you know what I learn.

Leave a Reply

