h1

Swap in Review #2: Grey Vest

May 13, 2010

Continuing with the discussion of tops, one of the tops I made is a vest. Now I think I’m a little behind the times with this vest. Vests were pretty popular around this time last year but I’ve seen substantially fewer of them this year. This is a sewing problem that I’m working on: sewing something trendy that I like while it’s still in style.

I based this vest on McCalls 8222 which is actually one of the first patterns I ever purchased. I used it to make an oversized vest about 15 years ago. That vest has since been sent on to a new life but the pattern is basic enough that many things can be done with it.

As you can see, I  chose to add a stand up collar to ithe vest which involved narrowing the opening a the neckline and attempting to mould it around my neck and shoulders.  I’m not completely satisfied with the way it turned out. As you may be able to see, it bunches a bit around the shoulders, but I do like the overall effect. I’ve always been partial to this type of collar and I’m happy that I had a chance to add it to my wardrobe.

I also used decorative hooks as closures to meet the unusual closures requirement.

I like them better than buttonholes anyway.

Leave a Reply

