h1

SWAP Review/ Trench Sew-a-long

October 1, 2012

Okay, so my final push to finish my SWAP allowed me to take advantage of the rule that allowed for a couple of items to be started before the SWAP start date. I was running short on time and realized that I already had a partially complete coat: The Trench Sew-a-long coat.

I finally finished it!

This coat started as Vogue 8346. I selected the double breasted version, shortened it, increased the fullness of the skirt and added some trench coat features such as the epaulets on the shoulders. I also added pockets and pocket flaps because I need pockets.

While I know it is not perfect, I do wear it fairly regularly when a lightweight coat is helpful to have.

Here is another shot, closed:

And here is the lining. I love making neutral coloured items and then lining them with something bright:
Hopefully this coat is just the first of several coats as I have more ideas to work with yet.

One comment

  1. Very good article. I will be dealing with some of these issues as well.
    .



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

